Cover Reveal: Signs of Attraction

Less than a year ago I was searching through the entries for Nest Pitch looking for pitches that I wanted on my team. I came across a New Adult entry called Silence by Laura Brown.

Carli struggles to be perfect, hiding her hearing loss and debilitating headaches. When she meets Reed, his deafness shows her imperfect can be perfect. She’ll lose his love unless she learns to accept herself.” <— The pitch that attracted me to Laura’s story.

The pitch was intriguing, and the writing even more so. I love championing New Adult, and I love championing stories that feature diversity. I’m a true believer that everyone should be able to read about main characters they can relate to, seeing themselves reflected back at them in the words that they read.

So Silence scored a spot on Team Evil Bunny. Laura didn’t score an agent from the process, but she get receive feedback from myself and fellow teammate E.L. Wicker, who provided amazing insights for Laura.

Persisting with querying and contests, Laura did score an agent less than six months after Nest Pitch (read about her journey here), and then less than two months after announcing she had an agent, Laura announced she had a publishing deal (which you can read about here).

Now, less than a year after I first saw Laura’s work, she has a cover to reveal!

Drum roll

…………….

…………….

…………….

SignsOfAttraction HiRes

 

SIGNS OF ATTRACTION 

Do you know what hearing loss sounds like? I do.

All my life I’ve tried to be like you. I’ve failed.

So I keep it hidden.

But on the day my world crashed down around me, Reed was there.

He showed me just how loud and vibrant silence can be, even when I struggled to understand.

He’s unlike anyone I’ve ever known. His soulful eyes and strong hands pulled me in before I knew what was happening.

And as I saw those hands sign, felt them sparking on me, I knew: imperfect could be perfect.

Reed makes me feel things I’ve never felt. It’s exciting…and terrifying.

Because he sees me like no one else has, and I’m afraid of what he’ll find if he looks too closely.

The only thing that scares me more than being with him? Letting him go.

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Publisher Available for pre-order!

About the Author

web head shot squareLaura Brown lives in Massachusetts with her quirky abnormal family. Her husband’s put up with her since high school, her young son keeps her on her toes, and her three cats think they deserve more scratches. Hearing loss is a big part of who she is, from her own Hard of Hearing ears, to the characters she creates.

Website | Twitter | Facebook

Leave a Reply

