SJ7: YA Science Fiction – Rogue

Title: Rogue

Category: Young Adult

Genre: Science Fiction

Word Count: 80,000

Pitch: Unaware her world is virtual, seventeen-year-old Mei is programmed to help human players win. But when three deceitful players plan to destroy the game server that keeps her alive, she’s done playing by the rules.

First 250 words of manuscript:

They say only Heroes can leave the monastery. If that’s the case, they should’ve made the walls higher.

I dash up the stone, the soles of my boots making dust fly, and grab the ledge to peer over it. In this broad daylight, too many of my fellow students could spot my return.

The coast clear, I vault overtop and drop back inside. Hiding behind a weapons rack, I rub my daggers against my leather leggings, removing leftover wolves’ blood. I wish I could’ve stayed out in the wilderness longer and leveled even higher, but the Hero will be returning from her quest soon. Experience points won’t mean much if I’m not present for the guardian selection.

I remove my stats scroll from my belt and unroll the parchment.

MEI SUN

**

Level: 5

Profession: Assassin

HP: 500/500

Mana: 200/200

Weapon: Novice Daggers (Damage: 1-3)

Attire: Novice Armor (Armor: 1)

Level five. My chest swells with pride. This morning, before the Hero arrived, I was like all the other students: a measly level one. By now, I’ve ridden around most of Newburos Island and discovered all manner of beasts. I didn’t pick fights with anything more than one level above me. Even experience points aren’t worth my life.

“Mei.”

I gasp and clutch my scroll to my chest.

Instructor Stefan steps toward me, his robes casting a long shadow onto the stone floor. “What were you doing outside the gates?”

I pull my hood off and put the scroll away.

5 thoughts on “SJ7: YA Science Fiction – Rogue

  1. Pingback: #PitchMadness Candy Land Edition…Game on! |

  2. I love virtual vs. reality (and just finished binge-watching Westworld). Count me in! Gumdrop Pass – Query/synopsis plus first 50 pages.

Leave a Reply

