Pitch Wars Mentor Wishlist

G’Day! I’m an Aussie writer with a thing for cats. MEOW!  I predominately write YA, but I have a NA series out with City Owl Press.

Some things about me: I have a thing for pink, cats, unicorns and amazeball stories.I may have a shoe fetish and a funky sock festish. Every night I use Sleep Easy Headphones as a way to help manage my OCD. Going to Romantic Times was my first ever trip out of Australia. And when I was at Romantic Times I got a hardcover copy of the first ever book I recommended for publication as an intern! I have a geeky heart. My family loves video games, comic books, tv shows based on comics… I help organise a local pop culture convention, and went as Princess Peach when I MCed it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Some of my favourite stories:

  • The Curse Workers Series – Deep, dark, gritty full of twists and turns.
  • Throne of Glass Series – I adored the voice in this and the amazing plot. Masterfully written.
  • The Night Circus – The time jumps and inter-weaving go the plots left me with this longing.
  • Daughter of Smoke and Bone Series – Gosh, I wish I could write like that. It’s what I now aspire to.
  • The Time Traveller’s Wife – Raw, intense, the perfect soft SciFi
  • Illuminae – Unique storytelling and a great twisty plot.
  • The Raven Cycle – Lyrical writing that breaks my heart.
  • All the books by Courtney Summers – perfect anti-heroine characters that are masterfully portrayed in heart-wrenching plots
  • Redeeming Love – An amazing love story.
  • Outlander Series – Love the complicated twisting of history and fiction with a hot love interest: I’ll have a Scotch on the Rocks!
  • Most of Jane Austen’s books – I just adore them.
  • Lux Series – Hot sexy aliens jammed into action-packed stories.
  • Graffiti Moon – The perfect Australian contemporary story.
  • Sweet Damage & Beautiful Malice – Artfully crafted thrillers.
  • Code Name Verity – Heart-breaking unreliable narrator.
  • See Me – Sweet betas at their best
  • If I Stay – Unique storytelling
  • Across the Universe Series – It’s like the 1984 of YA.
  • Game of Thrones – The masterful plot gets me.
  • The Starbound Trilogy – Teenage angst in space!
  • Jane Eyre – Dark feminist story that broke the mould.
  • And it should go without saying, but Harry Potter. – ALWAYS!

Things I would love to see in my inbox:

  • Anything that you could comp to the stories on my favourite list above (and you can see I have diverse taste genre wise)
  • Diversity! I want it. Diverse settings, diverse MCs, diverse stories.
  • Dark stories
  • Reimaginings
  • Alternative histories
  • Heists
  • Magicians
  • Kissing
  • Under-used fantasy characters, like Centaurs.
  • Gaming (bonus for gamer girls!)
  • Criminal elements
  • Strong female characters
  • Curses
  • Courts
  • Historicals
  • Genre mash-ups
  • Mental Health
  • Anti-hero
  • A good girl gone bad.
  • Gasp-out-loud twists.
  • Any POV & Tense – 1st, 3rd (or second if you’re really brave) and past or present tense. I take them all.

I am not going to define the genres. I’m open to anything as long as it fits with some of the points above (but not all of them, cause that would be a seriously weird book).

What you can expect from me:

  • Fixing issues you didn’t know exist. Yes, I find things, issues, inconsistencies, problems that will cause a book blogger to go ‘Say what?!’ but seem to get missed by other readers. Although I’m a big picture person, I get the details of things that don’t work.
  • An amazing pitch. My nickname is the query-whisperer. It’s a speciality of mine to take pitches and polish them until they sparkle.
  • Tough love – with the emphasis on love. Every year I’ve fallen in love with my mentees MS. Not like, love. But I’m not afraid to point things out.
  • Solutions, not just problems. My mind is an ideas factory. I won’t simply tell you problems, I will show you solutions so make your story shine.
  • An ongoing advocate. I will be there for you after Pitch Wars is over if you need me.

 

What I want from you:

  • Someone accepts a book is created by a village. You need to be open to feedback, open to making some major changes if you book needs it. I won’t ask for change for the sake of change. I will ask for change if you story will be the better for it.
  • Information about how much revision your story has been through to date, how long you’ve been querying it/how much you’ve queried it, if it’s been in any competitions.
  • A glorious story that needs some shining.

What I don’t want:

  • A synopsis – I prefer just to read the story.
  • Someone who is only interested in getting in front of agents. This is a journey of growing as a writer.
  • First drafts.

 

And one last piece of trivia about me. My husband’s name begins with…

letter-1347416_1920

 


1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

6.

7.

8.

9.

10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

19.

20.

21.

22.

23.

24.

25.

26.

27.

28.

29.

30.

31.

32.

33.

34.

35.

36.

37.

38.

39.

40.

41.

42.

43.

44.

45.

46.

47.

48.

49.

50.

51.

52.

53.

54.

55.

56.

57.

58.

59.

60.

61.

62.

63.

64.

65.

66.

Powered by… Mister Linky’s Magical Widgets.

22 thoughts on “Pitch Wars Mentor Wishlist

  1. Pingback: My Pitch Wars Wishlist & Bio | Marie Meyer

  2. Pingback: #PITCHWARS IS HERE!!! – K. Hopkins Writes

  3. Pingback: Pitch Wars Time! | Jennifer Blackwood

  4. Pingback: Pitch Wars Wish List: Team Rocket Edition | Janella Angeles

  5. Pingback: Pitch Wars Mentor Bio!

  6. Pingback: #PitchWars 2016 Mentor Bio – mckelle george's journal

  7. Pingback: #PitchWars 2016: Mentor Bio + Wish List | Kit Frick

  8. Pingback: Pitch Wars Mentor Wishlist! |

  9. Pingback: Pitch Wars! - Rosalyn Eves

  10. Pingback: My Pitch Wars Mentor Wish List | Tripping the Write Fantastic

  11. Pingback: Pitch Wars Wish List: Team Rocket Edition! | Axie Oh

  12. Pingback: 2016 Pitch Wars Mentor Bio & Wishlist! |

  13. Pingback: Pitch Wars 2016 Mentor Bio and Wish List!!! – Chelsea Bobulski

  14. Pingback: Let the #PitchWars begin! | Laustinspace

  15. Pingback: Pitch Wars Mentor Bio 2016 | Stephanie Scott

  16. Pingback: #PitchWars 2016 YA Mentors Wishlist Kim Graff and Cat Scully – Cat Scully

  17. Pingback: Let's Rock 2016 Pitch Wars!!! - Heather Ezell

  18. Pingback: Pitch Wars MSWL: M.K. England and Jamie Pacton (YA) | MK England | YA author and librarian

  19. You asked for this on Twitter, but now I’m feeling all weird and stalker-y, because I’m the only one posting, but here goes! I sent you my PW entry, because you asked for retellings, I LOVE your favorite books list and I like your focus on the writing journey.

  20. Pingback: Pitching Contests: Yes or No? | Aussie Writers

  21. Pingback: Pitch Wars Wish List | Fiona McLaren Writes

Leave a comment